On Watch

Thanks to all of you who view this blog regularly and who want to know if I am staying in Saskatchewan or if life will take me in another direction.  There are really no answers to either of these questions because at this point I don’t know.  The whole journey since I left Nova Scotia has been about a lesson in trust.

I have extended my stay on the prairies for many reasons, some I know and others I do not.  That does make me wonder, however, what else is in store for me here, but I try not to dwell on the need to know.  For if I knew what possibilities the future is holding for me, I would create many expectations around that knowledge.  Whenever expectations are inflamed, disappointment typically ensues.  Therefore, letting go of the need to know involves trust, believing that my future here or wherever it takes me will unfold exactly the way it is intended.  For certain, I will be back in my RV as soon as the weather warms up.

For this cold season, however, I am living in an apartment; my trailer is in storage and the floor is being repaired due to condensation damage; I am beginning to sing again one morning a week at the local health center with a wonderful group of seniors; and every morning I watch how my pen glides across the ruled pages of my journal filling my heart and mind with inspiration.

Ice-laden trees in Craik

Ice-laden trees in Craik

The main street of Craik after a snow storm. The snow is first plowed into piles before taken away.

The main street of Craik after a snow storm. The snow is first plowed into piles before taken away.

I also spend a lot of time observing how the winter season blesses this part of Canada.   I watch how the many storms have gradually blanketed the Earth with deep snow.  I consistently witness temperatures so cold that the branches on the trees and bushes glisten each morning with a crispy white frost, and Jack always paints an abstract on the back door window pane.  It is the kind of cold that can be felt indoors when the thermostat is already turned to 20° C, or can be heard crunching beneath my heavy boots as I make my way along the snow-covered street towards town.   I watch the silent-moving and mesmerizing effects of the relentless prairie wind as it creates linear streams of drifting snow that flow across the front yard or on the road in front of me   The effect of all this wintry weather on my senses makes me reminiscent of my childhood and what winters used to be like in eastern Canada.

Highway to Moose Jaw

Blustery Highway #2 from Chamberlain to Moose Jaw

One of the first things I did after moving into the apartment was have a block heater installed in the Buick.  Everyone kept telling me that it was definitely needed if my car was to survive a winter on the Canadian prairies.  On the major highway between Saskatoon and Regina, it appears to me that vehicles pass going the same speed that they did during the spring, summer and fall.  One speed for all seasons.  The land is so flat here that sliding off a slippery road into shallow terrain is perhaps more of an inconvenience than a disaster.  The temperatures dropped early in the season, and just when I thought that it was the coldest weather I had ever been in, the locals were still walking around town without gloves or hats.  After my attempts at complaining in public, I was responded to numerous times with “This is nothing.  Winter hasn’t really started yet.”  So I stopped looking for sympathy and moved on with accepting my decision to be here.

Sunset over Craik

A typical sunset view from my living room window

Wintry Sunset near Davidson

A late afternoon bone-chilling sunset near Davidson

I watch the heavens above.  The living room window in the apartment is very large with a wide view of the northwest.  The sunsets are beautiful, the sky ever changing and the sundogs plentiful.

Sundog in Aylesbury Field

The fields in Aylesbury danced to the tune of this sundog

Sundog in Craik Skies

Early morning sundog observed on the edge of town in Craik

Ominous-looking storm clouds can roll lowly across the distant horizon one minute, and the sun can be shining through an expansive clear blue sky the next.  The clouds in particular have certainly been capturing my interest and watchful eyes.

A large flat circular cloud moving north as storm clouds move south

A large flat circular cloud moving towards the north as lower storm clouds move southward

Suddenly another flat circular cloud appear within seconds of seeing the first

Another flat circular cloud appeared shortly after seeing the first, both moving northward

Left viewing the sky and came back to the living room window two minutes later.  The two mysterious clouds completely disappeared.

I left viewing the sky and came back to the living room window a couple minutes later.  The two mysterious clouds had disappeared completely.

If destiny dictates that I eventually leave Saskatchewan, I will do so with conscious fond memories and with the heart-warming knowledge that this area will always offer a home to me.  In the meantime, I will live each monent of the day in gratitude for being here.  To not feel this way would be the result of blaming something else when the beauty around me, the experience of living a tranquil prairie life and the many kind hearts befriending me are all happening on my watch.

This entry was posted in Narrative and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Watch

  1. Judith says:

    Shanomi, hugs and much love to you. Thank you for your insights and for sharing your journey. Great pictures, they offer a real touch of the energy of where you are. I so enjoy seeing your name in my inbox with a comment or a blog to read it really sets up my day. Safe and wondrous journeying to you……Judith

  2. Peg Widdes says:

    Sounds like Saskatchewan has proven to be a rich part of your soul journey. Your writing
    grows steadily fuller and deeper and you sound much more at peace with yourself.
    Bright Blessings,
    Peg

  3. Paulette says:

    Beautiful Shanomi thank you

    Sent from my Kobo Vox

  4. Margaret says:

    Your photography is absolutely wonderful – glad you are happy – and enjoying each moment of surprise, wonder and beauty – this country is amazing – and the people are equally so! I will ‘google’ the destinations you mention in your travels – warm thoughts are sent your way from our 6 degree Sunday January evening – imagine????? we’ve not had need for a snow plow to date!
    love
    Margaret

Leave a Reply

