The Write Place

Happiness is not having what you want; it is wanting what you have.

(Sheryl Crow)

For almost twenty-five years I’ve had the dream of being a writer.  There have been two main challenges to realizing this dream.  One of the biggest challenges has been my fear of writing publicly.  As long as I wrote only in the privacy of my own journal, I was comfortable.  But as soon as I thought about writing a book, I would start to shake and have butterflies in my stomach.  It took me a long time to figure out why – early childhood programming of “Don’t let ‘em see you sweat” kind of mentality, along with many other associated fears.  I learned at a young age not to have a voice, and it has taken a very long time and much effort to find it again.  Sometimes I wonder if I ever had it.

My second challenge has been getting at the business of writing.  Because of my fears, I always managed to create distractions – too tired, needed to mow the lawn, had to work to pay bills, etc.  Life just seemed easier when I avoided my dream, but after years of deceiving myself, I finally had enough of the procrastination and negative internal dialogue.  I knew I had to face my fear and write anyway, for not doing so created much anxiety and disappointment.  I also needed to create a lifestyle for myself where my distractions were minimal and where I could live cheaply without working, at least for a while.  For no other reason, that is what brought me to central Arizona.

Red Rocks of Central Arizona

When a door doesn’t want to open, look for another one to walk through.  One of the first things I wanted to do after arriving in Sedona in November was to join a writers’ group for support and inspiration.  I found the name of such a group on the internet, but there was no contact information from the internet source.  Every time I searched for leads and followed through, it was a dead end.  The coffee shop where the group supposedly met each week didn’t even know anything about the group.  Weeks went by.  I even showed up at the coffee shop at the time they were supposed to be meeting to find no one there.  It was an obvious closed door.  As I left the coffee shop one day, I picked up the latest edition of the “Red Rock News” newspaper and found the name of another group, a name that I hadn’t seen before.  Later that day I called the contact number, and by the next morning, I was sitting round table with a small group of local writers.  I finally found my writing community.

Human nature being what it is, I occasionally continue to pull myself away from writing.  I tell myself that the trailer is too cold to write, that there is too much noise in the RV park, or that my chocolate hangover is too great to focus on writing.  But the distractions are trivial compared to what they used to be.  So my day begins leaving my chilly trailer very early in the morning with my coffee in one hand and my laptop tucked under the other arm, and I head for the RV park library where there’s a heater 24/7 and some peace and quiet.  I manage to write for a couple of hours until people start coming and going in the post office and laundry room next door.

Hard at it in the RV park library

When life starts to get a little too noisy or sociable in the library, I head back to the trailer to finish my morning writing.  By that time the sun has warmed the trailer to a comfortable temperature, and I’m starting to peel away the layers of warm clothes.

Writing in the RV

If I haven’t accomplished significant writing in the morning in either one of these places, I quite often head out into the Arizona bush to find a quiet place amongst the magnificent red rocks and serene countryside to buckle down on the laptop.

Bush writing

Wherever the location to write each day, at least I’m writing and working on a manuscript.  There is an inner knowingness that I am exactly where I need to be – the right place for this write time of my life.

This entry was posted in Narrative and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Write Place

  1. Peg says:

    Good to hear your deepening resolve around your need to write. Also great to see the pictures of you in your new and awesome surroundings.
    Write on, dear girl! Write on!

    • Shanomi says:

      Hi Peg…It’s very early in the morning here, and I’m heading over to the library in a few minutes to get in some writing. The last couple of days have been full of distractions, my biggest one being where I’m going next in April when my six months is up in the US. Can’t believe I have to deal with that so soon. I feel like I just arrived here. Time is really flying by, and my next move is uncertain. I can write anywhere but the transition to a new place is going to be very disruptive – and a big distraction! Thank you for all your words of support over the past few months. Trust all is well with you.
      Blessings
      Shanomi

  2. Hi Shanomi,
    Great entry! Sounds like quite an adventure of self discovery you are on. I hope you enjoy it!

    Sorry I somehow missed your message (re comments) and can’t log in to my mail to respond. It seems they can be viewed when an individual post is selected rather than when posts are in list form on the blog’s home page. Hmmmm… Does that make sense?

  3. Anonymous says:

    A writer indeed…That you already have shown.Your blog is wonderful 🙂 and uplifting ^.
    You seem very happy Shanomi. Nice to sense that feeling*.
    Love the Quote : by Sheryl Crow. My personal fav along those lines.
    “Happiness resides not in possessions and not in gold, the feeling of happiness dwells in the soul.” Democritus, (460?-370? BC)

    Take care,
    William

    • Shanomi says:

      Hi William…Glad to know that you’re still along for the ride. Thanks for your awesome quote and inspirational words. Yes, I am quite content here in Arizona; it really suits my lifestyle quite well. It will be difficult to think about leaving in a couple of months, but I know it will be here for the next escape from a Canadian winter. Take gentle care.
      Shanomi

  4. …heartfelt text

    kudos on the sincere/unSelf-conscious photos!

    thank you 🙂

  5. Anonymous says:

    This is my favourite post so far — you go Gal

    …inspired to get rid of DISTRACTION
    ~ B

    • Shanomi says:

      Thanks “Anonymous B”. Distractions are a way of life for us humans. My angels once told me I was a master at creating them. How many we create for ourselves I guess depends on how badly we want something. For me, that was freedom. Having the time and energy to write is icing on the cake. As my beginning quote says “Happiness is not having what you want; it is wanting what you have.” Create the passion.

      Ciao for now, Galmate
      Shanomi

  6. mye1212 says:

    You are pursuing a dream and doing so in an interesting way. I’m glad I found your blog, and thanks for stopping by mine. Here’s to writers finding their voice.
    Monique

  7. Margaret says:

    sounds like the many interviews I’d viewed reference the lady who wrote the Harry Potter series – you’ve got it ‘kid’ – go for it – pound the keys – enjoy – feel your word, emotions, feelings, (same thing) GUT – which I think is one’s overself – the GUT – accumlation of all senses – a very reliable GUT – Oh my – am I overdoing the NCIS thing – the Boss and his GUT ????
    love reading your travel diary – open doors to feeling and obeying one’s GUT
    xoxoxo

    • Shanomi says:

      Thanks Margaret for the support. My gut led me here, along with a great deal of Divine intervention. Enjoying my freedom and certainly don’t miss shovelling snow. It might be years before I finish this manuscript, but the more I write, the more I want to write. Thanks for checkin’ in. Stay well.
      Blessings
      Shanomi

Leave a Reply

